2004 Teardrop Sidewall Repair

ladyjaneladyjane Member Posts: 3
edited July 2015 in Conversions & Upgrades
I am new to the blog.  I have had my trailer since 2005 and have not used it much.  That being said the tongue broke
on the I-5 in Washington state.  Had to get it hauled to a friends and he got someone to fix that.  Now I want to tackle securing the sides.  I do not have any problems yet but I want to attach the sides to the frame.  I saw in a post someone fixed that by putting a metal strip.  Does it have to be metal?  Can I use heavy aluminum?  I have taken fenders off and the strip under sides.  I thought I'd water seal the bottom of the wood then run a channel under front and back of trailer.  Do the screws have to go all the way through to the frame and put washer & nuts on the end?  Not sure how to do this.  I need help.  Thanks You Ladyjane 

Comments

• Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I believe one of our members Deceiver did this repair?  Find his profile and you can look back on his postings. 

If if it were me I'd stick with steel for the repair as you can create a reaction using the aluminum and steel together.  There is a chemical reaction that can take place over time and although that sounds feasible,  I personally wouldn't Repair it using aluminum.  Bolts through the frame would probably be the way to go.  

I'll see if I can find some if the members who have done the repair and see if they will jump in and offer up some solid tips on what they did to repair threir trailers.
  • Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 8,776 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2015