Mini Max brakes?

Does the Mini Max have brakes or need a brake controller?  I'm new to trailers (had an RV, got tired of 8 miles per gallon) and my dealer isn't much help.  I'll be towing with a 2012 Highlander Hybrid that's rated for 3500 GVWR and will be doing some mountain driving.
Thanks from a newbie,
Bruce

Best Answer

Answers

• danofdotdanofdot Posts: 10Member
    Hi merrelbruce - My wife and I just bought a MiniMax which we are picking up this Spring :)
    It comes standard with a rubber torsion axle and electric brakes. We are going to be towing with a Tacoma SR5; for which I am currently installing a Tekonsha P3 brake controller. I'd say it's a good idea to have the brake controller - particularly if you are doing some mountain driving. You might also want to look into a weight distribution/anti-sway hitch as well.
    Good luck in your search!
    Dan
  • merrellbrucemerrellbruce Posts: 3Member
    Good info, thanks Dan.  I'm checking with another dealer, here's what he says:

"The Mini Max comes standard with electric brakes. A hard wired or RF brake controller will work for the trailer.  I recommend a Prodigy RF brake controller, especially for your hybrid.  The RF's work much better with newer vehicles.  A 4 pin plug will not operate a brake controller.  You need a round 7 pin plug for that. We can upgrade your wiring and install a Prodigy RF brake controller for $420."

Seem reasonable?

And how important is weight distribution/anti-sway for this relatively small trailer?  There's an Equal-i-zer one on etrailer.com that's rated about right--up to 400 lbs tongue weight, 4000 lbs GTW--but it adds another $500 plus to my outlay.

Any advice is appreciated!
    Bruce

• merrellbrucemerrellbruce Posts: 3Member
    Dan,